International School Of Karachi
Rise To Brilliance
Affiliated with Edexcel International
Phone # +9221-35291432

About Edexcel

Edexcel is one of three major awarding bodies in the UK. It was formed in 1996 by the merger of two of the leading examination and assessment boards in the UK: BTEC and ULEAC, the University of London Examinations and Assessment Council.

Through quality partnership arrangements, Edexcel qualification is provided in over 7000 international institutions across more than 100 countries.

GCSE, iGCSE and ‘A’ levels provided by Edexcel are one of the main entry qualifications for selection to Universities. The General Certificate of Secondary Education is a two year course beginning in Year 10*.

*Students submit coursework throughout the two years and this together with the final examination, is assessed to provide the grade for each subject


The International School of Karachi follows the National Curriculum of England in Primary. It is a known fact that compulsory education in England lasts eleven years, from the age of 5 up to the age of 16.

The original model chosen was that of a British system school and that policy has continued to the present. Children can be admitted in the Nursery class, when they have achieved the age of 3 years by 30 August, and continue to take A-Level examinations at age 18.

The curriculum is that of the National Curriculum of England. Pupils take SATS style tests at the end of Key Stage One (Year 2), and Key Stage Two (Year 6).

External GCSE and IGCSE exams are taken in Years 10 and 11, and AS/A2-Levels in Year 12 and 13.

It is a priority of the school that the students are prepared for, and can transfer to, British, American and International Universities. The curriculum of the school is broad, and appropriate to the multinational and multicultural nature of the pupils. Music, Physical Education, Arts occupy secure places in the programme as well as the more academic subjects. The school is committed to offering appropriate courses at all levels in Information and Communication Technology.

The school is licensed by the Pakistan Ministry of Education and, according to its directive; a programme of Pakistan Studies (History and Geography), Urdu Language and Islamic Studies (for Muslim children) is conducted.

The requirements of compulsory education are set out in the National Curriculum, which outlines learning that is designed to equip the student with the knowledge and skills to make good decisions in his/her personal life and to lead a life as a productive citizen.

The core (compulsory) subjects of the National Curriculum are English, Mathematics, Science, Information and Communication Technology (ICT) and Physical Education. Achievement is measured at the end of Year 11 by public iGCSE (International General Certificate of Secondary Education) exams.

School qualifications are awarded by the Edexcel examining bodies and not by the school. These qualifications are recognised throughout the world. Coursework and internal school examinations are used only to evaluate the student’s progress.

Where should my child be placed?

The British System works on September 1st as the key entry date for each school year. It is the age of a child on this date that determines the year group to which they belong.


As you may be aware we teach the British National Curriculum at ISK. This governs what is taught in all subject areas and ensures that all students receive a broad, balanced curriculum as they progress through the Key Stage.

Students are assessed via National Curriculum Levels. This internationally recognised form of assessment enables parents to see how their child is progressing in comparison to students of the same age in England and around the world.

If your child is currently in Key Stage 3 of their education (Year 7, 8 and 9) they will receive a detailed academic report twice each school year – at Christmas and in the Summer term. Alongside grades for effort and attainment each subject area will also provide a National Curriculum Level.

What do the National Curriculum Levels mean?

There are 8 levels in the National Curriculum. Children are expected to work their way through one level every two years. If a child has achieved the expected level in the National Curriculum, it means they show knowledge and skills that are the same as, or slightly better than, most children of the same age.

At the end of Key Stage 3 the minimum level expected in English, Mathematics and Science is Level 5.

This indicates that a student has the potential to attain a C grade or higher at iGCSE level (Years 10 –11).

In the 3 core subjects mentioned above students sit formal end of key stage tests at the end of Year 9.

This determines their level. However throughout the Key Stage all subject teachers monitor their students’ performance using National Curriculum Level criteria. This enables teachers to set subject specific targets for each individual student that will provide the structure they require to progress up to the next level of attainment. It is a consistent and accountable form of assessment.

Subscribe Newsletter
Copyright 2016-17 International School of Karachi, All Rights Reserved Powered By B2B Sol